68th Conference of the Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics
(ISTAM - 2023)

(An International Conference)

December 07-09, 2023

Organizing Departments

Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics was established in 1959 and it has always shared the vision of the institute in striving for excellence in teaching and research activities. Over the years, the department has evolved as one that provides excellent teaching and research in Applied Mathematical Sciences. The department offers PhD degree, M.Sc., Applied Mathematics and Mathematics with Scientific Computing, Integrated M.Sc., courses, B.Tech., and M.Tech., service courses, institute level PhD and minor level courses. The students are trained in FORTRAN, C, C++, Python, Java and SQL programming languages, mathematical software like MATLAB and Mathematica and plotting tools like Tecplot etc.


Prof. Hari Ponnamma Rani
Mathematics Department

Department of Civil Engineering

The Department of Civil Engineering has been one of the pioneering academic departments of NITW since the inception of the institute in 1959. It is one of the centres recognised by the MHRD, Gol, for the engineering college teachers to pursue their M.Tech. and PhD programmes under the Quality Improvement Programme, since 1978. The Dept., has a large number of research projects sponsored by MHRD, AICTE, UGC, CSIR, DST, MOUA, MOST, CWC, CRRI, CBIP, R&D wings of AP State Government undertakings. Many public sector undertakings like NTPC, RITES, Singareni Collieries etc. and private companies like Gammon India Ltd., L&T etc. consult the Department for technical advice. The Dept., offers one B.Tech. program in Civil Engineering and eight PG programs in Construction Technology and Management, Engineering Structures, Environmental Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering, Transportation Engineering, Water Resources Engineering and Waste Management.


Head of the Department Prof. Gunneswara Rao T D
Civil Engg. Department

Department of Mechanical Engineering

The Department of Mechanical Engineering was established in the year 1959. The Department offers B.Tech., in Mechanical Engineering with an intake of 140 students, seven M.Tech., programs (Thermal Engineering, Machine Design, Automobile Engineering, Material System and Engineering Design, Manufacturing Engineering, Computer Integrated Manufacturing and Additive Manufacturing) and PhD programs. At present, the department has 49 faculty members with different research expertise. The department has good research facilities for both experimental as well as simulation based research.


Head of the Department Prof. V Suresh Babu
Mech. Engg. Department