5th Colloquium on

Transportation Systems Engineering and Management


Please Find Instructions here

May 17 - 19, 2018

Organised by

Transportation Division


National Institute of Technology Warangal
Warangal 506 004.
Telangana State, India.

Registrations are open !!!


Growing urbanisation, rising vehicle ownership, globalisation of economies and shortage of resources has posed major challenges to the transportation sector. Mobility, accessibility and safety continue to be daunting challenges to transportation professionals’ world over. In this context, cutting edge research that could provide sustainable solutions to transport related problems is the need of the hour. Colloquium on Transportation Systems Engineering and Management (CTSEM) aims to bring together researchers, scientists, engineers, research scholars and post graduate students in different areas of Transportation Engineering and Management. Earlier CTSEMs was organised in 2014 at NIT Calicut, 2015 at NIT Tiruchirapalli, 2016 at BMS College of Engineering, Bangalore and 2017 at Anna University, Chennai. The objectives of this 5th CTSEM are to provide an opportunity for the students, research scholars and transportation professionals to present their work and network with the peers; learn about advancements and applications in their fields; minimise the duplication of research efforts and arrive at future directions for research.

Call for Papers

Papers are invited on the topics outlined and others falling within the scope of the event. Papers are to be prepared as per the ASCE conference proceedings paper format. Acceptance of the papers will be based on peer review results and if accepted for publication, must be presented at the event. The language of the colloquium is English.

Negotiations with leading publishers are underway to publish some of the selected high quality papers presented in the Colloquium in the form of proceedings.

Topics of Interest

CTSEM will cover the conceptual aspects related to transport planning, traffic engineering and pavement technology. The topics include, but are not restricted to

  • Environmental and Ecological Aspects
  • Freight Transport and Logistics
  • GIS for Transportation
  • Highway Capacity and Level of Service
  • Highway Design and Maintenance
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems
  • Non-motorised Transportation
  • Pavement Design and Construction
  • Pavement Evaluation and Management
  • Pavement Materials and Characterisation
  • Pedestrian Facilities and Safety
  • Public Transport Planning and Management
  • Road Asset Management
  • Road Pricing and Parking Charges
  • Sustainable Transportation
  • Traffic Crashes and Safety
  • Traffic Modelling and Management
  • Transit Oriented Development
  • Transportation and Land Use
  • Transportation Economics and Policy
  • Transportation Infrastructure Financing
  • Travel Behaviour Modelling
  • Travel Demand Analysis and Forecasting
  • Urban Mobility
  • Urban Transport Planning and Management

Important Dates

Extended Abstract Submission 26th March, 2018
Acceptance Notification 9th April, 2018
Final Paper Submission 23rd April, 2018
Last Date of Payment of Registration Fee 30th April, 2018


CTSEM will provide great opportunity for interaction among industries, consultants, government agencies, educational institutions, academicians, professionals and decision makers.
Sponsorship with the following tariff is invited.

Platinum Sponsor: Rs. 1,00,000 (8 delegates free)
Gold Sponsor: Rs. 50,000 (6 delegates free)
Silver Sponsor: Rs. 25,000 (4 delegates free)
Co-Sponsor: Rs. 10,000 (2 delegates free)

Mode of Payment

All the payments are to be made through Online/NEFT to the Bank given below.

Account Name CTSEM2018
Account No 37556833968
Bank and Branch State Bank of India, REC Warangal (NIT Campus)
IFSC Code SBIN0020149

Address for correspondence

Prof. C.S.R.K. Prasad
Colloquium Chair (CTSEM)
Department of Civil Engineering
National Institute of Technology,
Warangal – 506 004, Telangana, India
Mobile: 09440347348
Phone: 0870-2462117
E-mail: ctsem2018@gmail.com


Delegates from Industry Rs. 3000/-
Faculty and Scientists: Rs. 1500/-
Research Scholars/Students Rs. 750/-

Registration fee includes Conference kit, Conference Buffet, Lunch, Dinner and Refreshments.


"Best Paper Awards" will be conferred on the selected author(s) of full papers presented at the conference.

Accomodation and Travel

Participants will be provided with boarding and lodging facilities on twin sharing basis in the Visitors’ Block of the Institute on payment of Rs. 1500/-. Out stationed scholars and postgraduate students will be provided free boarding and lodging in the Institute Hostels. Travel Allowance will not be provided and the participants have to make their own travel arrangements to reach the Institute.

Organising Committee

Chief Patron

Prof. N V Ramana Rao, Director


Prof. G. Rajesh Kumar
Head of the Department
Civil Engineering, NIT Warangal

Organising Secretaries

Dr. Venkaiah Chowdary

Dr. K.V.R. Ravi Shankar

Dr. S. Shankar

Dr. Arpan Mehar

Colloquium Chair

Prof. C.S.R.K. Prasad
Head of Transportation Division
Department of Civil Engineering
NIT Warangal


  • Prof. A. Veeraragavan, IIT Madras, Chennai
  • Prof. A.K. Sarkar, Director, BITS Pilani
  • Prof. B.P. Chandrasekhar, Former Director (T), NRRDA
  • Prof. Geetam Tiwari, IIT Delhi
  • Prof. I.K. Pateria, Director (T), NRRDA, New Delhi
  • Prof. K. Sudhakar Reddy, IIT Kharaghpur
  • Prof. K.V. Krishna Rao, IIT Bombay, Mumbai
  • Prof. Partha Chakraborthy, IIT Kanpur
  • Prof. P.K. Sikdar, ICT, New Delhi
  • Prof. Praveen Kumar, IIT Roorkee
  • Prof. Satish Chandra, Director, CRRI
  • Prof. Shivananda Swamy, CEPT, Ahmedabad
  • Prof. R. Sivanandan, IIT Madras, Chennai
  • Dr. M.P. Raju, MD, LASA, New Delhi
  • Prof. Kuncheria P. Isaac, Kerala Technological University
  • Sri N.V.S. Reddy, MD, Hyderabad Metro, Hyderabad
  • Sri P.R.K. Murthy, MMRDA


  • Dr. A.K. Shukla, Professor, GEC, Lucknow
  • Dr. Animesh Das, Professor, IIT Kanpur
  • Dr. Ashish Verma, Associate Professor, IISc Bangalore
  • Dr. A.U. Ravi Shankar, Professor, NIT Surathkal
  • Dr. Bino I. Koshy, Professor, RIT Kottayam
  • Dr. G.J. Joshi, Professor, SVNIT Surat
  • Dr. K. Gunasekaran, Associate Professor, Anna University
  • Dr. J. Murali Krishnan, Professor, IIT Madras, Chennai
  • Dr. K. Ramachandra Rao, Associate Professor, IIT Delhi
  • Dr. Karthik K. Srinivasan, Professor, IIT Madras
  • Dr. M. Amarnath Reddy, Professor, IIT Kharagpur
  • Dr. M. Parida, Professor, IIT Roorkee
  • Dr. M. Satyakumar, Professor, College of Engg., Trivandrum
  • Dr. Mahabir Panda, Professor, NIT Rourkela
  • Dr. Moses Shantakumar, Professor, NIT Tiruchirapally
  • Dr. M.S. Amarnath, Professor, Bangalore University
  • Dr. M.V.L.R. Anjaneyulu, Professor, NIT Calicut
  • Dr. P.K. Agarwal, Professor, MANIT, Bhopal
  • Dr. S. Velmurugan, CRRI, New Delhi
  • Dr. Samson Mathew, Professor, NIT Tiruchirapally
  • Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Professor, SPA, New Delhi
  • Dr. S.N. Sachedeva, Professor, NIT Kurukshetra
  • Dr. Tom V. Mathew Professor, IIT Bombay